Shades of Blue

9a5c17a513399fb5e5917b088e5b0ceb-600x600x1

I have to continue to speak on the inequality going on right now because it’s really bothering me. And to help express that, I had to choose a song by my trusty friend Vic Mensa. Shades of Blue is the perfect song to carry this post, it discusses the mistreatment of people of color (specifically mistreatment from the government). If you haven’t been paying attention to social media lately, there is an ongoing white supremacist rally in Charlottesville, VA. What bothers me the most about it is that that is only 2 1/2 hours from my house. That’s practically in my backyard. It made racism and inequality more real for me. Even though I’ve experienced racism before this, it just made it more real because it’s so close. That could’ve easily been people I graduated with, or people in the local grocery store. It just made me feel so unsafe and scared in my own fucking home. I’m just so sick of having to watch my surroundings, being extra nervous around police officers, and watching my people get injured and killed on social media. It makes me frustrated as well because I just realized that for almost 18 years, I have been falling for the government’s bullshit. They constantly have been distracting us from the real problem through social media and the news. Have you ever noticed that the news never picks up some of the tragic stories we see on twitter or facebook? They use people like The Kardashians to manipulate us into thinking that racial problems are nonexistent. I’m here to wake you the fuck up and say that this shit is alive and more prominent than ever. I would also go even further to say that these outward acts of white supremacy is a distraction from a war. Or even worse, WWIII. The government has been controlling us for too long, it’s time for us to push back against this “authority” and reclaim ourselves. We must be the kings and queens that our ancestors were. We must rise above this hate. We will get through this because we ARE survivors.

-AH

Author: soundtrackofmyanxiety

adriana | 20 | MD & NJ | Just a girl with anxiety trying to find a way to her dreams

Leave a Reply

