Spread Love

860dffac4f1abfb372ead7f5308b7222-1000x1000x1

Even though I don’t listen to Mick Jenkins like that, I am OBSESSED with this song because of the core elements: the electric piano melody and the message. Living in America is really not the easiest right now. From Trump being president, to racism, to homophobia…I could literally go on and on. I always ask myself “How can any of this get better?” A big part of the answer is love. But, we can’t fully learn to love others that are different from us unless our parents instill it in us. I think that that’s the biggest disconnect between millennials and other generations. Our emotions are very aggressive so when we love, we love hard and when we hate, we hate forever. But older generations are used to it being one way and anything that changes that is automatically wrong. It’s one of the reasons why I can’t wait to have kids, I want to teach the power of love and equality to combat this older generation’s ignorance. One of my favorite quotes if from Jimi Hendrix (aka my dad lmao) and he said “When the power of love overcomes the love of power, the world will know peace”.  And I believe that to the fullest. You have Trump in the white house representing the epitome of white supremacy in power, of course this will cause other white supremacists to act out. But once we do what we need to do and radiate the love that this world needs, I truly believe that peace will come to us. We have to defeat this hate with the undefeated power of love. I have to learn to practice this too…because this fear is just my anxiety talking, right?

-AH

Author: soundtrackofmyanxiety

adriana | 20 | MD & NJ | Just a girl with anxiety trying to find a way to her dreams

Leave a Reply

